Knowledgebase: Online Lectures
Zoom Meeting Security Recommendations

Article Last Updated March 2020

This article outlines recommended steps instructors should follow to ensure their online meetings are secure. The Zoom integration in eClass provides a very strong overall security mechanism but listed below are some additional steps that can be taken to prevent problems and mis-use. The use of personal Zoom accounts is not recommended. Instructors should also consult CTL's best practice recommendations for using Zoom as well as the CISO (Chief Information Security Officer) update on Zoom security.

1. Do not distribute your meeting URL unless it is required for external user access. The Zoom integration in eClass will automatically allow all students in your course to access the meeting directly. Sharing the meeting URL allows anyone with the link to join and can introduce security issues. You should also alert your students to the negative consequences of sharing the meeting url.

2. Protect meetings where external access is required by requiring a password.

3. Do not use your Personal Meeting Room for public events since the url doesn't change and once shared will always be accessible to whomever has the url.

4. Create single meetings instead of recurring meetings as these have fixed urls as well. Once the url has been shared to external participants, they can always access the meeting. If a recurring meeting has had security issues, create new meetings for future course events. 

5. Be familiar with the mechanisms for controlling participant actions and dealing with problem users. Clicking Manage Participants at the bottom center of the Zoom control panel provides access to the list of participants:

The participants list appears along the right-hand edge of the meeting window:

Instructors can hover over individual participants to perform specific functions:

- Mute audio:

- Disable video:

- Remove users from the meeting:

6. When screen sharing, click More to turn off annotation during screen sharing (if this is not a necessary function):

7. Through the More link at the bottom of the Participants panel, it is also possible to Lock your meeting once all of your participants have entered:

(9 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful